Was Dr. Seuss right?

Posted on Updated on

Dr. Seuss said that: “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

When I was just a child, I loved to read. In those days, I always imagined that I would travel the world – a world that I knew about only from the books that I was reading. When I was young, I was only an armchair traveler. But when I grew up, I realized my dreams of world travel.

I have been to: many part of the United States, as well as Australia, Singapore, France, Italy, UK, Switzerland, Barbados, Trinidad, Jamaica, Cuba and Sint Maarten. While many have been vacation destinations, about half of these have been business-related including several years of living and working in Australia and the USA in addition to Canada.

I believe Dr. Seuss was right. Early in life, I developed a thirst for reading. Over the years I acquired a library of hundreds of books. I loved to learn and was fortunate that I had a career  where I could apply all of that learning. And that career took me all over the world as a management consultant.

As a consultant, I was required to speak with people at all levels of an organization from front reception to the Chief Executive Officer or the Board. Excellent verbal and written  communication skills was a critical success factor in my career advancement.

Today, I would like to share my abilities with others. I believe that if you learn English and use your language skills effectively  that you too will achieve greater success and have more fun – on the journey of life and business!

Leave a Reply

